Wine making and viticulture site

The wine must be given contact with oxygen

Valentin Chinenov, BB Cafe restaurant sommelier:

– The wine must be given contact with oxygen, without this the aroma and taste of the wine cannot be revealed. While the wine is stored, it is in the closed space of the bottle, does not have contact with oxygen. A vacuum is created inside the bottle. And oxygen needs wine to reveal its taste and aromatic properties.

The process of wine oxygenation is called aeration. Usually aeration is used for aged wines that have stood in the bottle for more than 5 years, but less old wines also like to stand in a glass, to breathe. It is useful for many wines.

There is aeration like this: the contents of the bottle are poured into a glass decanter designed to drain and serve the wine, it is called a decanter. Smooth circular movements stir the wine with the air. After that, the drink can be allowed to stand for about 15 minutes.

A simpler way for home use or if there is no decanter: just pour the wine into a glass, rotate the glass in your hand so that the wine is saturated with air, and leave it for a while. You can try the wine immediately after being poured into a glass, and after 10 minutes you will be surprised how much the taste and aroma has changed.

Source

Портал о виноделии и виноградарстве

Зачем вину дают «подышать»?

Валентин Чиненов, сомелье ресторана BB Cafe:

— Вину необходимо давать контакт с кислородом, без этого не смогут раскрыться аромат и вкус вина. Пока вино хранится, оно находится в замкнутом пространстве бутылки, не имеет контакта с кислородом. Внутри бутылки создается вакуум. А кислород необходим вину, чтобы раскрылись его вкусовые и ароматические свойства.

Процесс насыщения вина кислородом называют аэрацией. Обычно аэрация используется для выдержанных вин, которые более 5 лет простояли в бутылке, но и менее старые вина тоже любят постоять в бокале, подышать. Это полезно для многих вин.

Происходит аэрация так: содержимое бутылки наливают в стеклянный графин, предназначенный для сливания и подачи вина, его называют декантером. Плавными круговыми движениями перемешивают вино с воздухом. После этого напитку можно дать постоять около 15 минут.

Более простой способ для домашних условий или если нет декантера: просто налить вино в бокал, повращать бокал в руке, чтобы вино насытилось воздухом, и оставить на некоторое время. Можно попробовать вино сразу после того, как налили в бокал, и через 10 минут — вы удивитесь, насколько изменился вкус и аромат.

Источник